Green Urbane

gulfblog

الطريق الوعِر صوب التنمية: دراسة حالة منطقة الخليج

في ضوء الركود الاقتصادي العالمي والوباء الصحي الذي يبعث على القلق، أسفرت مجموعة متنوعة من المشاكل المتعلقة بالبنية التحتية والتنمية عن الضغط على كثير من اقتصادات العالم. ولا تزال العديد من المشكلات ذات الصلة بالتنمية عالقة بلا حلول نظراً للقيود المختلفة المتعلقة بالأزمات الخارجية.

واستناداً إلى ذلك، فإن الطبيعة الاقتصادية الريعية لدول الخليج وآثارها المترتبة على المتغيرات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية الأخرى قد أسفرت عن إنتاج مجموعة وافرة من النقاشات ذات الطبيعة الخلافية بشأن مفاهيم مثل الاستثمارات الإنتاجية والتوظيف المستدام و"لعنة الموارد" والمبادرة الخاصة. وقد أضحت الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص، في الآونة الأخيرة، من الموضوعات البارزة في المناقشات المتكررة التي تحاول بحث سبل وضع دول مثل المملكة العربية السعودية في مسار مختلف وجديد سعياً لتطوير البنية التحتية المستدامة.

تسعى هذه المدونة إلى تحديد الخطوط العريضة لأبرز التحديات والتطورات التي تواجه بلدان الخليج فيما يتعلق بهذا الموضوع، إلى جانب توفير إجراءات السياسات المستندة إلى الأدلة لأي قيود مرجحة قيد الدراسة.

مظاهر التقدم والمعوقات

يسلّط كتيّب أعدّته "تنمية القطاع الخاص" بعنوان "الشراكات بين القطاعين العام والخاص في الشرق الأوسط وشمال إفريقيا" الضوء على القدرة على القيام بمثل هذه الترتيبات لمضاعفة الابتكارات في القطاع الخاص وتقديمها نيابة عن القطاع العام. وينطبق هذا الأمر بصفة خاصة على بلدان مثل المملكة العربية السعودية، التي تفتقر عموماً إلى القدرات الفنية والكفاءة والتنظيم لإطلاق خدمات في هذا الإطار. ويوضح التقرير كذلك بعض القيود التي فرضتها الاضطرابات السياسية في المنطقة ومجموعة واسعة من العقبات القانونية المتعلقة بديناميات النخبة. وفي واقع الأمر، يجب إزالة هذه العقبات إذا كان الهدف المطروح يتعلق بجذب الاستثمار.

ومن المثير للاهتمام أنّ تقريراً أعدّه أوليفر وايمان بعنوان "الاستثمار الخاص عنصر أساسي لإفساح المجال لرأس المال طويل الأجل للبنية التحتية الخليجية" يتناول بالضبط بعض مظاهر التقدم هذه داخل المملكة العربية السعودية، حيث أقتُرِح مشروع قانون مشاركة القطاع الخاص وبدأ العمل عليه في عام 2019. ونظراً لأن القانون يهدف إلى مضاعفة حماية المستثمرين وتعظيم الشفافية، فقد وُضِع بصفته مقياساً مرجعياً للوصول إلى رؤية السعودية 2030. إلا أنّ تحدياً آخر يطرحه التقرير يأخذ في الاعتبار لوائح وأطُر البنية التحتية للشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص المتخلفة نسبياً في بلدان مثل قطر والسعودية. كما أكد التقرير على الحاجة المُلحّة لهذه الأنواع من الأطُر لاستيعاب النمو السكاني في المنطقة. إذ إنه بينما أثبتت الموارد المعدنية فعاليتها في تطوير القطاعات الرئيسية لهذه البلدان، فإن التنويع الذي توجهه الدولة (بالإضافة إلى المبادرة الخاصة) ضروري للاستجابة للأزمات غير المتوقعة.

ويتمثل أحد الأمثلة على ذلك، والذي أُبرِزَ في استعراض عام أعدّته شركة التميمي وشركاه، في تطوير البنية التحتية الصحية في البلاد. إذ تتضمن هذه الخطة، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر، زيادة حصة القطاع الخاص من الإنفاق على الرعاية الصحية، وخصخصة مدينة طبية بأكملها جزئياً عبر مشروع قانوني للشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص جرت صياغته بصورة ملائمة، وتحديث فائدة وكفاءة خدمات المختبرات المتعلقة بالبحوث بالتشاور مع المهنيين والفنيين داخل القطاع الخاص.

التنبؤات والحلول المقترحة

بالنظر إلى مظاهر التطور الخاصة والعامة هذه، يبدو الاتجاه الذي تتخذه المملكة والدول المجاورة الأخرى واعداً ومبشراً. إلا أنّ التحديات المذكورة آنفاً تقترن معها مصاعب متواترة تتعلق بالصحة (مثل جائحة فيروس كورونا)، والاستقرار الإقليمي (معضلة الخليج وإيران)، والمبادرة الشخصية والفرص السياسية، والقضايا العامة ذات الصلة بمعايير "الحكم الرشيد" العامة. وفي حين أن بعض الظروف قد تبدو خارج نطاق السيطرة، فإن الكثير من هذه الظروف لها علاقة بالسياسات والقرارات والأولويات المدروسة التي يتخذها واضعو السياسات في هذه الدول.

وبُغية تقديم حل يتّسم بالحذر، أستفيد من دراسة حالة الحمادي في المملكة العربية السعودية، جنباً إلى جنب مع قراءتي المذكورة أعلاه. إذ إنه غالباً ما يتضمن القرار بشأن هذه المناقشات المتكررة إيجاد قدر كافٍ من الإرادة السياسية بين المسؤولين الحكوميين لبناء الدافع للاستثمار في تنفيذ الشراكة بين القطاعين العام والخاص. وفضلاً عن ذلك، من الضروري أيضاً تطوير وإضفاء الطابع الرسمي على مختلف الإجراءات المؤسسية والتنظيمية والقانونية ذات الصلة بالشركات المنشودة وعلاقتها بالدوائر ذات الطابع البيروقراطي.

AR
EN AR

Green Urbane

gulfblog

The Rocky Road towards Development: A Gulf Case Study

In light of a global economic recession and alarming health pandemic, a variety of infrastructural and development-related quandaries have exerted stress on much of the world’s economies. Many challenges pertinent to development remain unsolved given the different limits related to external shocks.

Accordingly, the rentier economic nature of Gulf countries and its implications on other socio-economic variables has generated a rich literature of contested debate on concepts such as productive investment, sustainable employment, the “resource curse”, and private initiative. Lately, public-private partnerships (PPP) in the region have grown popular in recurrent conversations that attempt to discuss ways to put states like Saudi Arabia in a different and fresh trajectory in the pursuit of sustainable infrastructural development.

This blogpost seeks to modestly outline the most notable challenges and developments facing Gulf states with regards to this subject, alongside providing evidence-based policy procedures for any weighted limitations under study.

Advancements and limitations

A handbook prepared by “Private Sector Development” titled “Public-Private Partnerships in the Middle East and North Africa” highlights the capacity for such arrangements to amplify both innovations in the private sector and delivery on behalf of the public sector. This is particularly pertinent to countries like Saudi Arabia, which generally lacks the technical capacity, competence, and organization to launch apt services. The report further illustrates some limitations enforced by the political turbulence of the region and a plethora of legal barriers related to inter-elite dynamics. In truth, these barriers ought to be lifted if the aim posed is concerned with attracting investment.

Interestingly enough, a report by Oliver Wyman titled “Private Investment is Key to Unlocking Long-Term Capital for Gulf Infrastructure” exactly tackles some of these developments within the Saudi kingdom, in which a Private Sector Participation draft law was proposed and worked on in 2019. As the law aims at amplifying investor protection and transparency, it is set as a benchmark to arrive at Saudi Vision 2030. However, another challenge posed by the report takes into account the relatively underdeveloped PPP infrastructure regulations and frameworks in countries such as Qatar and Saudi Arabia. The report also emphasized the urgent need for these types of frameworks to accommodate the growing population within the region. While mineral resources have proven effective in developing these countries’ prime sectors, diversification steered by the state (and coupled with private initiative) is reportedly necessary to respond to unexpected shocks.

One particular example highlighted in an overview by Al Tamimi & Company is the development of the country’s health infrastructure. This plan includes but is not restricted to increasing private sector share of healthcare spending, partly privatizing an entire medical city via an adequately-framed legal PPP scheme, and updating the very utility and efficiency of research-related laboratory services in consultation with professionals and technicians within the private sector.

Predictions and prescription

Taking note of these specific and general developments, the direction being taken by the Kingdom and other neighboring states seems promising. Nevertheless, accompanied by the aforementioned challenges are recurrent difficulties related to health (such as the coronavirus pandemic), regional stability (the Gulf-Iran dilemma), personal initiative and political opportunity, and general issues relevant to general “good governance” criteria. While some conditions may seem out of control, a lot has to do with the policies and conscious decisions/priorities set forth by these states and their policymakers.

In order to conduct a cautious prescription, I make use of Alhomadi’s case study in Saudi Arabia, alongside my aforementioned reading above. The resolution to these recurrent debates often thus includes generating a sufficient amount of political will amongst government officials building up the incentive to invest in PPP implementation. In addition, it’s also imperative to advance and formalize various institutional, regulatory, and legal procedures relevant to the companies pursued and their relationship to the bureaucratic offices.

EN
AR EN